Pedestrian Accident Statute of Limitations
Watch this video to learn about pedestrian accident statute of limitations and how to ensure your rights are protected within the time allowed.
How long do I have to file my pedestrian accident claim?
If you’re here, chances are you were struck by a motor vehicle as a pedestrian in New York. One of the questions that I get is, “How long do I have to file my claim, and who do I file the claim with?” You have three years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit, otherwise you’re banned and you’ve waived your right and can’t file a lawsuit after that time period. There are exceptions to that.If the accident involves a municipality, it may be a shorter time period; it may be a year and 90 days. There are also deadlines relevant to ensuring that you get your medical bills paid. You have to file what’s called a no fault application with the insurance company, and that has to be done within a 30-day period. There are deadlines that need to be followed. You need to sit down with a competent attorney, one that has personal injury litigation experience, to guide you through the process and to make sure that all of these deadlines are met.
Were you or a loved one seriously injured while walking and have questions about the pedestrian accident statute of limitations in New York? Contact a New York pedestrian accident lawyer at The Law Offices of Brian J. Elbaum today for a free confidential consultation and case evaluation. Let our experience work for you.
Subscribe to Our YouTube Channel